Miscellany

Handy Words That Don’t Exist In English

Arigata-meiwaku (Japanese): An act someone does for you that you didn’t want to have them do and tried to avoid having them do, but they went ahead anyway, determined to do you a favor, and then things went wrong and caused you a lot of trouble, yet in the end social conventions required you to express gratitude

via 25 Handy Words That Simply Don’t Exist In English | So Bad So Good.

For more handy words, click on the link above.

6 thoughts on “Handy Words That Don’t Exist In English”

  1. Oh I love that. How have I lived so long without that word?

    On a different note, I am a big fan of Douglas Adams’ Meaning of Liff, a small dictionary of words we are missing. One of my favourites is ‘peoria’ – the fear of having peeled too few potatoes. That’s a useful one, too.

  2. Oh, I have to pick that up. Clearly my vocabulary needs building. Who can do without peoria? or Liff (which means…? I assume it’s not just a word to make me laugh out loud on reading the title!)

Leave a Reply

