How Kids Shape Parents

An excerpt from my third “special to National Post“:

Now I’m doing something quite different: watching an episode of Bewitched with my younger daughter. Though it was a TV show I adored as a kid, when I saw it again a few years ago, I winced over the sexism. Before becoming a parent, I knew that I would never expose my children to anything like that. Media has too much impact. No Barbie; no Bewitched. Then along came Netflix, Crackle.com and YouTube and my kids caught me looking up the shows of my childhood.

Read the rest here!

Categories MiscellanyTags

4 thoughts on “How Kids Shape Parents

  1. I made my 24 year old son watch the schoolyard scene in ‘The Birds’ when the freaky feathered ones chase the little screaming children into a frenzy…I said ‘this is a really terrifying part of the movie!’…well, he just collapsed into tears laughing hysterically, especially when the small boy fell and lost his glasses…so yeah, guess they’re a tad desensitized, or maybe our old programs just don’t translate well these days. Truthfully, I kinda started laughing too.

  2. Funnily enough, my son also thought The Birds was rather low-rent comedy. That being said, we have loved watching the A Team together in previous years. I really enjoyed getting to read kid’s books all over again, and it’s been fun to watch some of the old television favourites with him. It is such a joy of parenting – that sharing of cultures.

    1. I’ve ever watched The Birds. Just hearing it was scary was enough for me. But maybe if it’s comedy… Yes sharing cultures is fun, both sharing what I liked as a kid and rediscovering it, and the sharing in their new child culture.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close