Miscellany

Sunday Ramble

I can tell that spring promotion is winding down because a) I’m walking again; b) I’m taking pictures again; and c) I’m in the mood to blog again. It’s true that, like any writer, my experiences, for eg my neighbourhood in Web of Angels, end up in my work. But I wonder if other writers have this happen too: my characters affect and inspire me.

For example, while I was writing about Sharon making milkshakes for her son’s girlfriend to get some nutrition into the grieving girl, I started making milkshakes for my kids. The African violets Sharon kept in her bathroom ended up in mine.

This weekend, while writing about photography for a newspaper (which I’ll post when it’s up), I went out and bought a new camera. Although I’m fond of my DSLR camera, an entry level Nikon that fits well in my small hands, it’s heavy with the zoom lens. Not in the first five minutes or even half hour of walking, but by the end of the first hour, it is heavy. And what’s worse, that makes me hot.

These days I like to avoid anything that makes me hot, because when I got hot it isn’t mere human warmth, it is a volcanic yogi-like snow melting blast. I have a five year old compact camera and it occurred to me that since its purchase, Panasonic may have come out with newer versions. Indeed, since then there have been many. And by luck, serendipity or Providence, the latest one has just hit the stores. Meaning the next latest was on sale.

I managed to pick up the very last such at Downtown Camera on Saturday. It’s even lighter and more compact than my old one and has a 16x optical zoom. Here’s what I saw with my Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS10 (aka tz20). (Click on any photo to enlarge)

I’ve just been looking at that dandelion on my large monitor, clicking on the plus sign to see it even closer. The beauty of a weed! No wonder kids (mine and I am guessing yours) can’t wait to pluck them and hand them to mom in spring.

The flowers of this gooseberry bush were so fragrant!

That house dates to the 1870s–I loved the detail.

No Toronto walk is complete without a mural. Oh, and there are more photos. I’ll wait and post them tomorrow! I haven’t had a weekend like this in ages, and I needed it–even though I had to work yesterday, too. Thank you Downtown Camera for my lovely blue camera!

6 thoughts on “Sunday Ramble”

    1. Thanks Litlove! I was in a town not far from Toronto this morning for a talk and reading (with 2 other authors) and took photos with my new camera. It was a fun morning and I’ll post about it as soon as I catch my breath.

  1. Oh my goodness, these are lovely! The clarity is amazing! My husband has a panasonic lumix camera too -these photos make me want to borrow it 🙂

Leave a Reply

