Fun, Interesting

Winnipeg Web of Angels

It’s taken me all week to recover from my week of travels, and I’m off again tomorrow. Winnipeg was a whirl of media, a live TV interview early morning, and four back to back in the afternoon (print, radio, TV, radio). But I managed to get a walk in right after I landed at the venerable Fort Garry Hotel (mentioned in The Little Shadows by Marina Endicott which I thoroughly enjoyed despite exhaustion!)

Winnipeg was an interesting city. I had the first hint when I arrived at the airport, which was spacious and quiet. The streets are broad. Walking in Winnipeg, I had a sense of all the room we’ve got to spread out a city here in the middle of Canada. Winnipeg’s not a big city. With 700,000 people by the standards of, say, China, it would be considered a small town.

But in Canada it’s a city with dignity and is surprisingly multicultural for the size. Flat land, big sky, the meeting place of two rivers instead of perched on a Great Lake like my home, it’s a place where I somehow didn’t feel out of place–though it would have been much better if my family was with me.

Of course, I have to admit, the charm was enhanced by the glorious sunny day between Winnipeg’s major seasons: snow and mosquitos. Now the pics (click to enlarge):

6 thoughts on “Winnipeg Web of Angels”

  1. How interesting – I’ve never been to Canada, so it’s very intriguing to see some photos of one of its cities (and even one I’ve heard of!). I hope the book tour continues to be exciting, Lilian, and productive. So many people about to read your novel – what a thought to blow the mind! 🙂

  2. Great photos, Lilian! And phew – it sounds like an amazing promotional tour! I went through Winnipeg once. I don’t think I’ve ever been so cold in all my life. My Egyptian friend and travelling companion was convinced, in all seriousness, that her ears were in danger of snapping off. Glad the prevailing winds were on your side! (btw, there is NO signal at the farm, so I am composing this on my lap in the car while we run errands in the Coolah township… if I am a little erratic on the commenting front, this is why!)

Leave a Reply

