Literary, Writing Life

My Favourite Spot for an Interview

I met Greg Quill (Toronto Star) at Faema’s, a coffee shop 5 minutes from my house. It’s on Dupont Street near the Jaguar dealership which is rumoured to be turned into a Target or Walmart in the next few years. It’s large, airy and bright with natural light from the floor to ceiling windows. But best of all, it’s in the old Ford building (ca 1915) that’s featured in Web of Angels.

I turned Faema into a long-standing neighbourhood restaurant, McGee’s, in my novel. The adjoining space, now an empty Blockbuster’s, had been the fictional store where Jake sold cigars to reporters from the Evening Telegram. Fifty years ago the Telegram building was at the corner across from Faema’s where a grocery store now stands.

Greg is a shaggy, big, middle-aged man…and a kindred spirit: a musician as well as a journalist. I had a blast talking with him and left our interview energized.

You can read the full profile here.

3 thoughts on “My Favourite Spot for an Interview”

  1. The interview came out great, and it was obvious that you had a good rapport! I love the Harbourfront area of Toronto where your reading was to be held. So wish I could have been there.

Leave a Reply

