Braving the Police Station

Some of you may remember how I had to overcome my shyness to do the final research for Web of Angels. I’m very comfortable in interviews and I can do the extroverted thing when required (though admittedly after days of it, I just want to sit quietly in a semi-dark room!). But the thought of interrupting the important work of police officers out to catch the baddest of the bad guys–well that brought out all my bashfulness.

But I never did post about the full experience here. So when I was asked to do a guest blog for Indigo, it was the perfect opportunity to recall it:

When I went to see the station, I was fascinated by what I saw there: the posters that said “You’ve Got the Power” and “Murdered”; the photograph of the division’s hockey team; the weight room where officers can work off stress; the joking notes taped to chairs; the cells with their green bars. I saw a man slumped on a bench, waiting to be processed. I saw an interview room, small, windowless, barred.

The full post is here.

Categories Book Stuff, Writing LifeTags

6 thoughts on “Braving the Police Station

  1. So interesting, LN. I’m not sure I have the guts to do that kind of interview research for a book, but your book is so authentic precisely because you did.

    1. Thank you Beth–any time I get wobbly, I re-read your post about Web of Angels.

  2. I’m looking forward to reading Web of Angels, Lilian. I loved The Singing Fire. I bought it before I had ever heard of blogs and picked it up mostly due to the wonderful cover. What’s between the front and back covers is even better.

    1. Thank you, Grad! It’s interesting how a cover can make the difference. I like to show kids different covers for my novels to get their responses to what they imagine the book is about.

  3. Just finished the book and loved it.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close