Chatelaine P. 176 and Loblaws!

I’ve become a bit of a maniac in the grocery store. It started with the Toronto Sun. I stood at the newspaper stand, flipping through it to find the Star Spaces story about my “decorating,” complete with a photo of the mural I painted with M & H. An old man was standing at the stand, too, complaining about the ubiquity of bad news. “Then have a look at this!” I crowed. “It’s about me and my new book!”

He smiled and said, in Yiddish, “Zei Gezunt.” (Be well.)
I smiled back and said, “A gezunt oif dein kop.” (Health on your head.)

Back to the grocery store yesterday to pick up the March issue of Chatelaine, turning to page 176. Yes! A photo of the book cover. A half-page spread with author (OMG that’s me!) Q & A. But the thrill wasn’t over yet.

There, in Loblaws, was Web of Angels. Right next to all those Grisham-like thrillers, my book! My lovely, difficult, perfect baby.

I grabbed a copy, walked right up to the poor middle-aged woman standing behind the service counter, and held up the book. “See this?” I asked. Then flipped open the cover to show the author photo. “And this? My book is here!”

Categories Book Stuff, Writing LifeTags

19 thoughts on “Chatelaine P. 176 and Loblaws!

  1. Wow! Congratulations, Lilian!

    1. Thank you Carrie–and I love your blog. I hope everyone here will check it out.

  2. Now this is what I love about Toronto — the fact that in a big city we can still feel a sense of community, in our own grocery store, in a Toronto newspaper and in Canada’s best selling women’s magazine all at the same time! πŸ™‚

    Congratulations Lilian, you deserve the attention and the accolades. You worked hard to birth this baby and it’s beautiful!!

    1. (((((Julia)))))) Thank you Sweetie.

  3. HUGE CONGRATS! A book that needs to be read —one that will crack hearts and open eyes.

    1. Sheree you are amazing and a true friend…besides being a fabulous poet and all around writer.

  4. Jane Doe aka Valerie February 29, 2012 — 11:27 pm

    BRAVO…..
    i am going to Loblaws tomorrow to buy a book!!! and a Chatelaine !!! LOL
    Lilian, I am thrilled for you…..totally thrilled!!!!

    Keep writing forward!
    Jane aka Valerie in London, ON

  5. Hey Lilian, Congrats, what a fantastic day, I am so happy for you! I am wondering if they even sell Chatelaine here on the Island, lol I guess I will have to drive to town and find out. πŸ™‚

    1. Oh, I wish I was there to drive with you! Or just have a cup of tea.

  6. Ahhhh, enjoy your time in the spotlight, Lilian, you deserve it!

    1. After a couple of days of it, I crave a darkened room! LOL.

  7. I got chills when I read this! So excited for you πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Becca. We all need to cheer each other on, don’t we?

  8. Fabulous. Enjoy every moment. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Jean. It grounds me to come back to my computer in the midst of this and see your beautiful photos.

  9. Now, you know I didn;t choose that avatar, don’t you? 😦

    1. Yes! And the contrast between the avatar and the ethereal and wise beauty of your photos is pretty wild.

  10. Woooo hoooo!!!! Lilian, this all sounds completely amazing – and I know for sure it’s well-deserved! Congratulations! Can’t wait to read this one. So pleased for you, and so PROUD of you! xxx

    1. Thank you Di! That made me smile from ear to ear.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close