Book Stuff, Writing Life

Rising at the Crack of Dawn

I’m not sure why it’s called a crack, it’s more of a creeping, the sky dark and then less dark, a blush of pink. I know that’s a cliche but for a good reason if you think about the makeup brush applied across a cheek. Whereas “crack” makes one think of another sort of cheek and that is not a pretty thought at all. At least not to a middle-aged mom such as myself.

Back to dawn and why I rose before it: my younger child is off on a class ski trip today and was required to be at her school at the ungodly hour of 7:00 am. I am absolutely sure it’s ungodly as any sensible sovereign of the universe would be sleeping the sleep of the just, which is why you can observe so much injustice in the world, particularly when it’s night.

Since I’m silly headed on lack of sleep, I decided to do something both pleasurable and easy, and prepare for my interview later this week by listening to Shelagh Rogers interview other authors on CBC radio’s The Next Chapter. If you click on the link you can hear Ami McKay talk about The Virgin Cures (how her great-grandmother inspired her to write a story about a woman doctor treating child prostitutes in 1870’s NY) or Patrick Dewitt on The Sisters Brothers (why he wrote a western/historical novel though he neither reads nor particularly likes either genre).

Have fun and I’ll let you know when my interview airs!

4 thoughts on “Rising at the Crack of Dawn”

  1. One good thing about getting up extra early is that you have a few more hours in the day to get things done 🙂 It sounds like you’re being productive with your extra time!

  2. Oh boy, I remember having to get up a 4 a few years ago in order to put my son on the school coach for a trip. The worst thing was that we got the day wrong, and were woken by the teacher ringing us to ask where he was. Fortunately the airport is only a half hour’s drive away and I had almost finished packing for him. But not something I wish to repeat too often. I hope your daughter has a lovely time!

  3. It’s been such a busy week that I haven’t had a chance to reply to comments, never mind post! I have to say that I’m glad that the 6:00 am waking up with baby days are over! Now we’re into how late will our 13 yo d (previously the earliest riser) sleep in on the weekend!

Leave a Reply

