A Day of Painting

The last couple of days I’ve had the best fun I’ve had in ages. Years ago, my kids and I painted a mural in the long narrow hallway between living room and kitchen. They’ve been wanting to re-paint and I promised that we would do so this holiday.

First we had to cover over the old mural with 2 coats of paint. That wasn’t so much fun, but I had the satisfaction of seeing my kids discover that it’s a lot of work, given that A and I have done all previous wall painting, and I’ve done it more than once. However the next day the real fun began.

Each of us got a third of the wall. H painted a scene with colourful penguins on hers. I painted a goofy western dragon and a serious Chinese dragon on mine. M is still working on hers, a meticulous skyscape of Toronto based on a photograph. She has been painting for hours and is still at it.

A was back teaching this week, so his participation has consisted of being called repeatedly to admire our progress, which he has done with aplomb.

Decluttering is good, but sometimes making a mess with paints is even better!

(Photos to follow as soon as M is finished.)

Categories MiscellanyTags

2 thoughts on “A Day of Painting

  1. Oooh. Can’t wait to see the photos 🙂

  2. Can’t wait to see the photos! This sounds like a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close