Writing Life

Decluttering 365–Day 1

Actually I lie, I started a couple of days ago. And I can’t promise a post a day about decluttering. I can’t even promise to declutter every day because Web of Angels will be out in 2 months and there are guest blogs and interviews in the works with, I hope, more to come. I also have new novels on the go, books to read, and, of course, my own family–and there has to be time for skating, not to mention that I want to start swimming, sewing, and knitting again.

Oh, and my children want to re-paint the mural in our hallway, so we are prepping the wall today, giving it a base coat of white. I’m thinking of painting a dragon in my section.

You see my problem folks. I need more than 24 hours in a day.

However, I recently spent time with someone I love who is a hoarder. It gave me the willies. And even though no one in my house is hoarding, we have the North American problem of too much stuff. Our small old house is crying out to be relieved of it. The dear thing is doing its best for a family of 4 with 2 home offices, one of which belongs to an academic who teaches everything from soup to nuts.

So this is my project for 2012. I hear that getting rid of clutter gives people more energy and a sense of mental spaciousness, too. I’ll let you know how it goes.

I don’t promise a post a day, but here are a couple of pictures to start.

contents of 1 drawer: how do I organize this?
removing sticky labels with mineral oil and elbow grease
8 thoughts on “Decluttering 365–Day 1”

  1. The decluttering never stops, does it? Our kitchen table grows detritus faster than any bacteria known to humankind. It does make you feel sort of clean after a life laundry, though, and I have several areas of the house I hope to get to before the spring – my wardrobe in particular where all sorts of things lurk that I haven’t worn for years! Good luck to you in your cleaning, Lilian!

  2. This is exactly what I’m doing! Drawer by drawer, closet by closet. There are things, however, that will simply have to stay…greeting cards, letters, trinkets made by my children, books. I have trouble throwing out photos even if I no longer know or remember who the people smiling out at me are. Clothes are the easiest for me to get rid of (except for two pairs of my favorite jeans which I WILL get back into one of these days…ahh hope).

    1. Grad that’s great! Perhaps we can keep each other company. I know the story of clothes in different sizes. And then this fall I bought 3 pairs of low rise jeans only to discover that going for long walks in low rise jeans means constantly hoisting them up. I don’t know why I keep buying jeans because at home I wear sweatpants or long underwear to work in. I have just one pair of sweatpants that are fortunately in such a thick fabric that it’s taking ages to wear out.

  3. Ooooh – good luck! I should do this too. Alas. My study is basically a dustbin for the rest of the house. I can barely cross the floor to the desk.

    Otherwise, what I should really declutter is – my bookshelves. I have too many books. But I love them! *wails and runs away*

    1. The office in my house is like that too–that’s where my h works (he’s an academic). We used to share it but we talked too much and didn’t get our work done, so I escaped to a corner of our bedroom.

Leave a Reply

