Site Meter

I must be the last blogger on earth to know about site meter and to install it. I learned about it from Emily’s blog. So just just in case there is someone else out there unfamiliar with it, I want to pass along the favour.

Site meter tracks visitors to your blog or website. WordPress has built-in stats, which are easily read and fun to see, but what I love about site meter is that it tracks visitors as well as pages, and most fun of all, their locations and how long they’ve spent at your website.

Warning: do not install this if you’re the sort of person who gets elated and then depressed by fluctuations in site stats. However, if you are (and most of us get on that bandwagon at least sometimes), maybe I can help a bit there.

In my younger days, before I could write novels for a precarious living, I was, as some of you know (cough) an accountant. (That is a long story which I’ll someday blog about.) Because I did a lot of work with non-profits, I learned to analyze numbers and not take them at face value. I wanted to know, for example, how sending out a hundred thousand letters (later phone calls) translated into actual donors.

Because I have a website and I’m an author, I have a similar interest in blog stats. In other words, how many people who come to my blog follow through to my website or my books. I’ve been watching this now for several years and it’s astonishing.

The number of people who click through to my website does not co-relate to the number of people visiting my blog. There are times that the stats go way up. There are times the stats fall flat. No impact. About the same number click through every day.

Common sense would advise otherwise, but in this case it’s wrong. So my friends–enjoy the strange wonders of blog stats, and don’t get caught up in them. I will try to take my own advice because site meter is so much fun.

I was thrilled that someone in Okanawa, Japan spent ten minutes on my blog. Today a visitor in Rumania looked at 3 pages. This is the best of the internet, this connection. Site meter is a way to see the light spreading out from your work so freely given.

Love to all.

Categories MiscellanyTags

10 thoughts on “Site Meter

  1. Oh, LN, use this tool well and never despair and remember that people can read your blog in many ways and do not necessarily have to enter in through something Site Meter will log.

  2. I had one of those on my old Blogspot blog, and used to enjoy seeing visitors from other countries, wondering how they found their way to my little corner of the internet.

    It was also fun when my son was in Thailand for long periods. I could see when they had been visiting me 🙂

    1. Becca, why aren’t you using it currently? Just curious. 🙂

  3. Thanks for the tip! I’ve added it to one of my blogs and will check it against the Blogger stats count to see if they differ.

    1. Glenn, great to see you here. I’ll be interested to find out what your experience is with it.

  4. I have site stats! They are fun. I remember in the early days of blogging being completely obsessed with my stats; nowadays I check most days but pay far less heed to them. Isn’t it a relief that familiarity brings, if not contempt, then more serenity!

    1. Yes–I used to be obsessive about it. Now every so often I remember to check. I’m going to do it right now!

  5. Spent *hours* on your blog just now, after that insightful review of The Good Soldier, and ordered Web of Angels! Greetings from Zürich, Switzerland.

    1. Thank you! I have fond memories of Zürich. I visited my great-aunt there as a teenager.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close