Today’s Work

Tõkestatud / Obstructed – Landscape & Rural Photos – Vaido’s Photoblog.

There weren’t any rainbows while I wrote today. (Well there were, while I was thinking, but then they vanished when I got to my desk.)

It was much like this. Obstruction. Fallen bits in the stream. It didn’t seem to go well. But that’s the nature of the writing process. Now I look at this photo and see the beauty in it and believe that there is beauty in writing even on a day when it seems to be all fallen logs.

 

 

 

Lilian is the author of Web of Angels, a novel about a mom with DID (multiple personalities). She's also the author of the historical novels, The River Midnight and The Singing Fire, about secrets, friendship and motherhood in 19th century Poland and London.

Posted in Beautiful
4 comments on “Today’s Work
  1. That’s a beautiful photo, and I like your idea of feeling obstructed in writing being beautiful, too. Sometimes it is like that, and when the breakthrough comes, it’s a wonderful feeling.

    • Yes it is. Now if I can just stop checking email while writing! 🙂

      • I do that, too, but I actually think it might be helpful. It distracts me momentarily from what I’m working on, and that can be a good thing. It gives me a break, and sometimes when I come back, the problem I was wrestling with is less of a problem. I think it gives the mind a chance to work without my interference – like sleeping on a problem sometimes helps. The trick is finding a balance, of course. Sometimes, I get so involved in email I lose concentration, and I’ve also been known to use it to avoid working on something!

  2. litlove says:

    Now there’s a thought I need to carry with me into next week! Thank you for that, Lilian.

Leave a Reply

MY NEW BOOK!

Click on the cover!

Goodreads
Progressive Bloggers
