Writing Life

Remembrance Day for Kids

Remembrance Day is a happy day for me because it’s A’s birthday and my life is immeasurably better for being shared with him. It is also our skating & cottage friend J’s birthday. Aside from that, though, it’s a day of laying wreaths, remembering battles and honouring those who fought in them.

But today I would like to consider another sort of of battle: the one where kids are unarmed soldiers and their homes are the battlefield. The stats on severe abuse (here and here) are about 1 in 9. That’s 11%.

I was one of those kids and I remember it every time there’s a holiday, every time I start something new and any time I am filled with joy and shocked by that. I am thinking of it now because next week kids will be running door to door with the thrill of prospectors striking gold. And I know that some kids, at the same time, are using every skill (and their skills are considerable) to control and hide their fear of the giants who terrorize them.

You see, the most common form of terrorism doesn’t involve ID’s. It’s occurring right now in every neighbourhood. The terrorists aren’t visibly distinguishable in any way, for they are common everyday rats who mow their lawns and put up decorations for Christmas or Hanukah.

The children who suffer terrorism in their homes grow up and have kids of their own. Most of them are quietly and heroically breaking the cycle. They look at their own kids and are baffled at how anyone can not cherish their innocence. Yet they know that right now, other children are still suffering. I know it. And those kids will be hurting next week when mine and yours are recklessly collecting candy, bringing it home to sort and count and triumph over.

So I want to set aside a time to remember, honour, and send love and light to all those children who have been hurt in their homes. If you would do that too, I do believe our thoughts and prayers will bring them sustenance: November 15 and May 15 are the dates I hope you join me.

Pass it along. Let’s talk, let’s end the isolation of those struggling alone. Let’s do this together.

3 thoughts on “Remembrance Day for Kids”

  1. I VOTE May. Because there seems like more hope then. Leave blooming bot dropping. I need that hope. And yes LILIAN! YES! this is where we pause and say no and HEAR HERE and some things can change ! Seen too much,heard too much, so know the truths. No more ostrich time allowed — ROAR! REFLECT. Remember. CHANGE .

Leave a Reply

