Book Stuff, Writing Life

Writing and Weeping

I intended to post my report about Scrivener yesterday, and I have photos from my Thanksgiving walk to upload. But instead I imported a document to Scrivener. It was a book I began months ago but had to put aside while working with my publisher on Web of Angels.

Yesterday I looked at the few pages I had of that new book and thought to myself, how terrible they are. I decided to begin again, and made notes on the characters, re-conceiving them in a way that must have touched a node of truth because I was crying so hard, it’s a good thing I touch type. I couldn’t see through the waterfall.

I cried because it felt so good, so right. My kids are bemused by my weeping over beauty, nobility, the shock of an uplifting truth, but they were at school so I could cry unabashedly. Scientists have analyzed tears and found chemicals in it that improve states of mind. Tradition says that when you cry, your tears find their way to the heart of God.

8 thoughts on “Writing and Weeping”

  1. I am sending you a big hug, and thinking of the note you just wrote to me, LN. I know where you are. I know how it feels. I know how shocking it is to look back on our work.

    And I so appreciate your fierce support of me when faced with a mean man.

    Sending love.

    b

  2. You know you’ve hit something real and true when it provokes tears. Just as humour can be cruel and kind, so tears can be sweet as well as bitter. Have a good blow now, as I used to say to my son – sounds like you’ve got some more writing to do now!

  3. Reminds me of a comment I read recently by Barbara Gowdy. She may have been quoting someone else, but the gist of it was that writing was sometimes like trying to dig your way out of a mine with a spoon. I thought that was true, but there are also moments – like yours, above – when the spoon scoops up diamonds.

Leave a Reply

