Steve Jobs on Life & Death

Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life. Because almost everything, all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure, these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important…You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart…Your time is limited so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma, which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other people’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important have the courage to follow your heart and intuition…Everything else is secondary. (Steve Jobs)

Full talk here.

Categories MiscellanyTags

7 thoughts on “Steve Jobs on Life & Death

  1. Great quote. His too-early death is so sad.

    I like your new blog layout very much, and look forward to more on Canadian literature, which I know too little about.

  2. Oh I am so glad to hear that you like it, Jean. I’ve been wondering how it’s working.

  3. I loved everything about Jobs’ talk. And I am going to try to live more like that.

    I love your new blog, too. So crisp and bright and easy to read. Well done.

  4. I really must read the entire transcript of the speech. I’ve seen lots of quotes from it around the internet and every one has been wonderful. Poor man – so sad he died relatively young – but he was certainly not unfulfilled.

    1. I listened to the whole speech and paused the video to transcribe some of it myself. I found it inspiring from beginning to end. It’s worth watching.

  5. I’m still really sad about Steve Jobs, but I find this inspiring.

    1. He had a big impact in his life in more ways than the technology.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close