Book Stuff, Writing Life

Heat Wave Over! And my book is…

I’m a new woman! The heat took its toll. The only way I could tell the difference between a hot flash and hot air was that I needed 2 ice packs vs 1 to keep from turning into a puddle. My good humour about the whole situation deteriorated until poor A fled to look for somewhere I could work on Sunday in A/C.

Fortunately, the weather forecast underestimated the cool down Saturday night, and I woke up Sunday morning to real air instead of the soupy imitation that had dragged me down.

I’m nearly done with the copy-edit and my editor’s final notes. Anne Collins is brilliant. I just want to share with you, my friends, a bit of her last email to me:

Lilian, here is the copy edit, and my few remaining editorial thoughts…the copy edit is light light light…and my thoughts basically totally blown away by how wonderful it is, and how thoroughly you thought through and addressed everything from the edit…the whole darn thing is pitch perfect, and some of the scenes are so powerful that even though I know what is coming I was hit as hard as if I’d never read any of it.

I’ve seen the cover designed by Kelly Hill and it’s gorgeous.

7 thoughts on “Heat Wave Over! And my book is…”

  1. So earlier today I saw the headline for this blog post, but then my connection failed and I couldn’t get through. I was determined to come back and read the whole and I LOVE WHAT YOU WROTE HERE. A million congratulations to you and to Anne —and, well, LN. You so deserve this.

    xo

    b

  2. Wow – what a fantastic email to receive! Just perfect! Time to print that out and stick it above the computer, I think. And so glad the heatwave is over – I can’t abide that kind of heat, either.

Leave a Reply

