Miscellany

A Hike to the Secret Passage

Last Friday and Saturday morning, before higher temperatures required me to do nothing but lie on the couch and read, A and I got up at 6:00 am to hike. We walked eastward along the railroad tracks to Carruthers’ Woods, from there to an abandoned railway track, down to the Brick Works, and along the belt-line to Bloor Street. Walking at a leisurely pace took us close to 5 hours. The first day, I took my camera but had forgot that I needed to replace the drained battery. The second day I took pictures, which didn’t turn out very well because I’m still getting the hang of my new camera. But nonetheless, here’s the tour. (Click on any picture to enlarge.)

Escaped roses growing alongside the tracks:

You can see why A called this the secret passage. It was so quiet there, the air was fragrant, and we were blessed with shade.

The Brick Works was, in the 1880’s, a brick factory that used the surrounding clay for its manufacturing process. (The bricks won prizes at the Chicago World’s Fair of 1893.) Now the quarry is a park with ponds and wetland habitat. On Saturday, A and I took the most direct route to the Brick Works, descending a steep clay slope. I went crab-wise, backside to the ground, supporting myself by leaning back on hands and feet as I crawled.

Toronto Brick Works

A sculpture someone made from found pieces near the end of the belt-line:

9 thoughts on “A Hike to the Secret Passage”

  1. A five-hour walk! How fun. I’m afraid I’m not willing to get up that early to get outside in the cooler air, though — sleeping in is too tempting when I can. I love the picture of the “secret passage.”

    Oh, by the way, I’m looking forward to seeing what’s on the Slaves list 🙂

  2. Dorothy–I sent you an email about that. Let me know what you think.

    goodbyereality, it was so much fun. i was feeling bored with the same old, and then the hikes completely refreshed me.

    Litlove, thank you! It didn’t seem that long and we walked leisurely. Still, I was surprised, too.

    Beth, yes in my recently finished novel, and in the new one, too.

  3. A ramble to secret places in the city is a magical thing – it was a rare treat to read this, Lilian. I am always surprised by how many wonderful forgotten places there are in our cities.

  4. A five hour hike! Wowsa – I’m impressed. I always love the idea of hiking, but can never quite get up the gumption to do it. My jaunts around the neighborhood trailing the doggies have to suffice.

    It’s interesting to discover new places in our hometowns. I’m sure Toronto has lots of hidden places the tourists never see.

Leave a Reply

