Today at the Beach

Rare and perfect summer weather–sunny and 26 (79)–lured me to the beach with M & H. We waded in the water; we collected rocks, just a handful of small ones for me, a lot of medium size ones for H, and M dragged home a bag full of heavy stones. She had a vision: a series of inuksuks on her bureau. (It’s now in process–pictures to follow.)

We waded in Lake Ontario.

Kew Beach by John Vetterli

 

The girls collected “sea glass”: shards of polished glass in the lake bottom. H put hers in a green plastic tube she found. There were 119 of them. We had ice cream cones. It was peaceful there on a weekday. I didn’t feel any need to hurry up the girls, not even when the last ice cream cone lasted a very long time while I sat and waited in Baskin Robbins. Bags of lake stones rested on the table; I felt the patience that had rounded and smoothed them. Or maybe just sitting by the lake, even for an afternoon, could smooth my edges, too.

Categories Writing LifeTags

5 thoughts on “Today at the Beach

  1. These are the summer memories you will cherish in years to come when your girls are grown up šŸ™‚ Believe me, I know. Your post brought back some very nice ones for me.

  2. Oh I miss those beach days! My son used to love looking for shells, but at 16, those days are long gone. I did enjoy them while they lasted, though.

  3. This sounds lovely – haven’t had a day at the beach in ages, and they were always a treat for body and spirit.

  4. What a gorgeous picture! Even though the Lake Ontario beaches were often too polluted to swim in around my home town of Rochester, I have fun memories of playing along the beach in more rural areas. It could be so beautiful!

  5. Becca, maybe they’ll come again with grandkids!

    Litlove, I’m so aware of that. My oldest turns 13 today!

    Cate–ah but you live in the midst of beauty all year round.

    Dorothy, with this heat, I wouldn’t be surprised if the warning sign is up again at the beach.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close