Book Stuff, Writing Life

Heat and Books

A high today of 33 (91.4F) with humidex that will be in the 40’s (100’s). So although I thought that I would be blogging up a storm after I handed in my draft, I’ve been slow off the mark. It’s much easier to lie around reading when it’s this hot. Today not even that–I’m taking kids to a mall. I’m bringing my Kobo, and while kids browse at Indigo Books, I’ll sit and read.

Speaking of reading, I’m behind (of course!) in my review posts again. I read The Enchanted April, which was enchanting light reading, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, which was enjoyable light reading. I’m nearly finished Terra Incognita, which is not as literary as the first in the series, but highly enjoyable as a mystery.

Anther reason for my dearth of posts: I fell on Tuesday while ice skating. Ironic, given that it’s summer, to injure myself that way. I mysteriously tripped, finding myself going down almost in slow motion but at an awkward slant, twisting over my left shoulder. While sitting, legs sprawled in front of me, shoulder in agony, I saw my left skate lace trailing on the ice. Before I skate again, I’ll be putting in new laces and double knotting them. At first I could barely move my arm an inch forward. It’s vastly improved, i can raise my arm to within 5 inches of my ear, but I don’t have full mobility yet. Poor me, I have to spend more time lying around reading! Cry some croc tears for me, won’t you?

7 thoughts on “Heat and Books”

  1. Sorry about your injury! I hope you are better soon, but in the meantime that you enjoy your reading. By the way, I sent you an email today … just want to be sure you got it.

  2. Sorry about your fall, but glad you can still read! Looking forward to reading what you think of your recent reads, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society in particular – it’s one of those books I’ve been avoiding!

  3. Kobo – haven’t heard of that one! How do you like it? Very sorry to hear you’ve injured yourself on the ice – there’s an ice rink set up on Bondi Beach at the moment, which looks amazing, but at least it’s actually winter here!!! Feel better! Xx

  4. Thanks so much, everyone!

    My shoulder is getting better though I still have to baby it and I get sore if I don’t. No swimming for a while.

    The Kobo is inexpensive and wonderful. They’ve come out with a touch screen for the same price, but it isn’t enough improved to tempt me yet. I actually prefer the buttons to touch because the screen stays cleaner. But the extra features will tempt me when the resolution is better than what I get now and especially if PDF files become actually readable on it.

Leave a Reply

