Sunshine and Self-Publishing

We have a sunny day today between last week’s rain and next week’s. I woke up listening to the birds singing loudly, making up for lost time. There are nests to build! Eggs to sit upon!

Yesterday I spent the day shopping with my older d, getting ready for a school trip. Next week I will wake up to say good-bye to her in the very early morning of the day she leaves, but I’m sending A to take her to the pick up point. I don’t dare. I will bawl my eyes out. I’m tearing up just thinking of it.

Now on to the self-publishing point of the post. The other day while in the bathroom, I picked up one of the picture books left on the floor by children for toilet reading. One of them was Three Stories High: The First Big Bungalo Boys Book by John Bianchi. I laughed while reading it, admiring his verve and imagination. Bianchi’s books have always been favourites for my kids.

So I was surprised to read this at the end of the book:

Last of the Tree Ranchers was the first title published by Bungalo Books when John and a friend, author/editor Frank B. Edwards, started the company in 1986. Since then, the pair have created 21 books together. They celebrated the printing of their one-millionth copy in the spring of 1995.

This is an old-fashioned, pre-ebooks self-publishing success story. Hurray for John Bianchi who has brought pleasure and smiles to millions of readers through his talent, endeavour and optimism.

For more on Johns Bianchi see his website here and Bungalo Books here.

Categories Book StuffTags ,

4 thoughts on “Sunshine and Self-Publishing

  1. Loved the Bungalo books, and there should be more self-publishing going on. I just don’t dig “e-books”, want a lovingly printed collection of pages in my hand after dinner, not a screen.

    it has been years since my girls were going off on school trips, but I still tear up sometimes when I think about their departures. It was so hard to watch them go.

    1. Letting them go is so hard, isn’t it? For kids’ books or anything that involves illustration or photography, there is nothing like paper.

  2. I have fond memories of reading to my two boys. We had a sock puppet we nick-named “Story Snake”, and Story Snake was always present when storytime came about. Can’t wait for grandkids!

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close