Writing Life

Easter

We’re having a very busy long weekend, hence the dearth of posts. Yesterday was filled with a delightful visit from a friend and her children, including (a first for me) a chocolate egg hunt. I had no idea that chocolate eggs now come in so many flavours. Great fun had by all and highly recommended as an annual tradition.

Today I took my kids out for French fries, another annual tradition. Because there are so many things we don’t eat on Passover, I’m laxer on the whole treat thing. We’ve had lots of chocolate, 3 kinds of chips, fries, chocolate torte, mint-chocolate ice cream (I do note that there’s a theme here). We purchased many necessities (rainboots, sandals, tshirts, shorts, a fancy dress for a certain person’s May dance) and some frivolities (stuffies, hair pins). I met the eyes of a man with a white beard and some teeth; I put some money in his hat and so did one of my kids who’d remembered to bring the envelopes we keep for that purpose.

Tomorrow, if the weather holds out, we’ll go roller-blading and have Chinese food. I love these days, this spring-time long weekend with A and our kids, graced by friends. We are here together in present moments of walking past daffodils and delight in all things potato and chocolate, and from this new memories are born.

8 thoughts on “Easter”

  1. Those are the best kinds of times, those you’ve just described, and the kinds that you and your children will remember – maybe not the exact details, but the feeling that comes from them. They are a blessing – enjoy 🙂

  2. I’m a bit late to wish you happy holidays but I’m doing so anyway. Sounds like you had a lovely time. And good luck with the May Day costume.

Leave a Reply

