Writing Life

It Arrived!

My new laptop arrived today. I ordered it from Lenovo at the end of March when my last computer started making ominous noises. I had visions of being in the middle of a revision with the deadline looming and hard drive being chewed up. However as soon as I ordered the new laptop, my old one calmed down marvellously and is now in the hands of my older d.

I waited for my new laptop with bated breath, really, checking UPS every day for news. None came, it seemed to be languishing in customs, and then unexpectedly the bell rang this morning. I spent the day getting it up and running, transferring files from my old laptop, and customizing it to d’s preferences.

Then I went for a walk, very short due to hunger (too busy to eat enough) and cold (where did the sun go while I was busy getting everything up and running?).

And I took photos with my new camera, though nothing very interesting because I was too cold to stay out long. Here’s a sample.

click to enlarge
click to enlarge
click to enlarge
click to enlarge
2 thoughts on “It Arrived!”

  1. Ooh new laptop love! My husband gave me a new laptop for my birthday this year. It’s lovely. Do hope you are enjoying playing with yours and feeling inspired by it!

    1. I am! It comes with all kinds of cool wallpaper. Oh my, the virtual things that absorb us! It took a long time to transfer files from my old laptop because I have a ton of music on it. And then I had to set up 2 laptops for my d’s–my last one for older d, and the one before that for younger d. My older d had had my older computer set up just the way she liked it, so not only did it involve moving her files, but more importantly, getting her laptop designed to her specs. Then this morning I moved bookcase and filing cabinet (which involved removing contents and then replacing them) to vacate a corner for my younger d to have her laptop set up. I had a ton of fun setting up her computer with colours and images I know she’ll like. She is very excited.

Leave a Reply

