Friday Chitchat

It’s the end of a well intentioned week where I was side-tracked by a virus, severe enough to keep me in bed and unable to do much of anything, but not bad enough to avoid boredom. I finished The Perpetual Curate, but had no energy to write about it, or at least not enough clarity of thought to furnish the words. A couple of books I wanted came into my ebook hold box at the library, but my fluishness made time pass in an odd way so that by the time I got around to downloading them, I’d missed the deadline.

I chose new themes for my Q&A, book, and deleted scenes blogs. I browsed magazines on and off-line (I subscribe to National Geographic, Scientific American, The Walrus; A picks up Spacing from stands, and a friend passes along NYRB).

And I’ve begun The Transit of Venus by Shirley Hazzard, which finally arrived from the UK courtesy of Abebooks, a wonderful source of used books. I can’t say much about it yet (being at pg 15), except that I’m curious about its publishing history. It first came out in 1980, was acquired by Virago Press and published in 1995, which in itself is curious. But more so, it was re-issued in 2004 and was subsequently reprinted 7 times between 2004 and 2007. I wonder why the upsurge of interest in this 30 year old novel.

I’ve been following the news, more nuclear danger in Japan, no-fly zone in Libya, and an election looming on my own home turf (oh, please, can we unstick the Tories from their grip?). And I remind myself to be grateful for the very small misery of being stuck in bed for a couple of days having tea and toast.

And now I need to go to dinner, having graduated from toast to lentil soup with matzaballs! I hope that you are all well and have as sunny a weekend as is predicted here.

Categories Writing LifeTags

6 thoughts on “Friday Chitchat

  1. I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been poorly! But I do hope that bed rest and toast and magazine-flipping online have done their healing work and that you are properly on the mend now. Take very good care of yourself!

    1. Thanks! I was hoping to go out today, but am still not up to it though better. Tomorrow I do want to skate!

  2. Can’t wait to hear what you think of The Transit of Venus. Hope you had a nice, refreshing weekend.

    1. Thanks Michelle. I’m curious to hear what all the Golconda folks think of it.

  3. I didn’t know about the publishing history of Hazzard’s book. I, too, am curious about the upsurge of interest in it. I’m about 100 pages from the end, and I’m not sure I could give an answer to that question.

    1. I’m having trouble getting into it. I’m less than 100 pages in! There has been so much going on here lately that it might be me rather than the author. I hope I’ll get more settled and be able to finish it before the discussion.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close