Miscellany

Signs of Spring

This post is not about the news. My heart goes out to the suffering, but this is not about that. It is about a sunny day in 2011 and a sunny day in 1995. Sixteen years ago, on a surprisingly balmy March ides, A and I were at a conservation area, walking, lying in the sun and necking. Enough said. My children read my blog. 🙂

On to 2011 and we are a family with 2 kids off for a week and we are having fun. How much difference the sky makes! Under a blue sky, heart lifts, hope lifts. Yesterday my kids and I walked downtown, had Chinese food at our favourite vegetarian restaurant (Full Moon has gone to new owners, so now it’s Buddha’s Vegetarian Kitchen on Dundas St W.). We were shopping for rainboots, but instead H and M acquired new inline skates (aka roller blades). When we got home, the 3 of us skated around the block a bunch of times.

I’m much steadier on my feet than I was last year at this time. And that got me to thinking how you can still learn, even sports, in midlife. I’m keen keen keen. I can’t wait for good skating weather. “You sound like me when I first started roller blading,” my sister-in-law reminisced. She was 20 years younger than I am when she learned to skate. This is the gift of being such a late bloomer: to have the excitement and enthusiasm of youth. It never has to go away. There’s always something to discover.

And so much easier to do so on a sunny day.

spring flowers, photo by Hanabi
Leave a Reply

