to write as a woman is political

For now, though, I guess I would say the female body and its experiences is my war, the war I do know of and the legislative attack on the female body is where I want to start to stand my political ground as a writer. 

This is a thought provoking and thoughtful essay about being a writer and female. I had to stop reading partway through to post the link because I’m that keen to share it. Read the whole thing at the link above. Okay now I’m going back to finish it.

Categories MiscellanyTags

2 thoughts on “to write as a woman is political

  1. I loved this essay, thanks for sharing it. As a political blogger who is both appreciative and envious of people who write fiction well, it is interesting to read the perspective of someone who writes literature. 🙂

    I think both political nonfiction writing and literature are important, and have a sort of symbiotic relationship to one another, with respect to feminism and women’s progress. For instance, I kind of see Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale as a hyperbolic fictional counterpart to Andrea Dworkin’s Right-Wing Women. That’s just one example, and this is probably stating the obvious, but I find that literature/fiction can often be a more powerful way to convey political perspectives because the reader is drawn to the immediacy of someone’s life.

    1. I’m so glad you liked it. The example you give is a very good one. I think the other advantage of literature is that it doesn’t have the same habitus clues that non-fiction does, so it can speak to a broader range of people.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close