writers on their relationship with the King James Bible

My mother taught me to read from the Book of Deuteronomy because it is full of animals – mostly unclean. So while other children had horses, bunnies, kittens and ducks, I had hoopoes, sloths, snakes, rock badgers, rams, swine and shellfish.

The translation isn’t always completely accurate, but it’s literal and it’s beautiful. I often find myself going back to the King James. As an aside, it’s interesting to think that of all the kings and queens of England, he is the most often named because of this one achievement.

Categories Miscellany

2 thoughts on “writers on their relationship with the King James Bible

  1. The King James bible is the one I think of first, too. I don’t really like the more idiomatic translations. When I was trying to pick readings for our wedding, I went right back to the Vulgate… (my New Testament Greek not being up to the task)

  2. I was interested especially in Jeanette Winterson’s comment about the impact of the KJB on working class literacy in that article–and the way that the new translations dumb that down.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close