Miscellany

kids spurning tv for ebooks

Something extraordinary happened after Eliana Litos received an e-reader for a Hanukkah gift in December.

“Some weeks I completely forgot about TV,” said Eliana, 11. “I went two weeks with only watching one show, or no shows at all. I was just reading every day.”

Not only is there an upswing in ebook sales of kids’ books like the Narnia series, but in downloading free classics like Little Women. I’m all for anything that gets kids (and adults) reading. I’ll have more to say next week with my Kobo update.

9 thoughts on “kids spurning tv for ebooks”

  1. That’s fascinating. I wonder if it has to do with the way e-readers present. The lighted screen, the sense of movement when “pages” turn. I have often wondered if what got people with TV wasn’t the content itself but something about the flickering light and sound.

    1. Not if it’s a kindle (as in this case) or kobo. Eink doesn’t flicker and the screen isn’t backlit like a computer screen (LCD) or tv. I’m reading more myself on the kobo, and I’ll be writing about that next week.

  2. I do hope that’s true and not yet more massaged data from the ebook league. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I would love for them to increase reading, only all the figures so far have been given so misleadingly (for instance, that story a few months back that ebooks had overtaken the sales of paper books? They were only comparing against hardback book sales). My son is still not keen on reading, in any media, but then he’s a tough nut to crack and I do not offer him as a representative of anything at all!

  3. Dorothy, I love good news stories, especially reading ones. There is far too much fear mongering about. I have to laugh when I think of all the “dreaded storm coming” stories there were in Toronto and then we got just a few inches of snow.

    Di, when one of my kids was looking at my ereader, she tried out books she wouldn’t have in paper because there are fewer cues in terms of size and cover to attract or alienate her. (But I’m utterly possessive of it, so she didn’t get a chance to use it more than once!)

    Litlove, I think the e-sales surpassing (hardcover) book sales story was different. It was on the coattails of the “books are doomed” bandwagon. I think that e-books are expansive rather than contractive. What I mean is that overall they add to the reading experience rather than subtracting from other reading forms.

Leave a Reply

