Miscellany

Vivian Maier – Her Discovered Work

There is a similar picture of me about the same age and the same facial expression. I wonder what made her cry. I wonder the same about myself. The late photographer has, a year + since the negatives were acquired by John Maloof, been discovered by the NYT, as Maloof mounts an exhibit of her work. There are twitters everywhere. But I’ve been getting a picture a day of her work since I subscribed to his blog more than a year ago. I hope that when the twitters die down, I’ll still see a picture a day. Her portraits speak stories.

5 thoughts on “Vivian Maier – Her Discovered Work”

  1. I did. Once I found her work I immediately tried to find out more about her. What a wonder she was. I envy her single-minded dedication. She was compelled by the camera. She never showed, never shared. She reminds me a bit of Emily Dickinson in her obsession, although E.D. did share at least with family. And I guess Vivian had none. Alone in the world with her eyes. Amazing.

    1. I love photography. One of the reasons that I’m on Flickr is not so much for my own (though it’s handy for various writing related photo projects) as to view and comment on others’ photographs. Confession: I do hanker after a dslr camera.

Leave a Reply

