*Kobo Review

The good: I can read faster on it. The bad: I have opacities (aka cataracts) too small to do anything about, but my eyes get tired. I would like better contrast.

The good: I can download free books and am enjoying that hugely. The bad: I can’t bookmark pages or mark passages. It’s cumbersome to flip back to an earlier page to share with A.

The good: small, portable, easy to pick up. The good: it doesn’t replace paper books. The good: I downloaded The Good solider for a Goodreads discussion group. The good: I put A Widow’s Tale on hold at the library Thursday and it arrived via email Friday, though the library is closed.

I’m looking forward to future improvements, better contrast, more options. My wish list: bookmarking, note taking, hyperlinks. I know that these are available in the Ipad, which some people love, but I find that my laptop is too distracting, and the LCD screen not as good for sustained reading as the e-ink used in the Kobo reader.

Bottom line: kobo is recommended. Also recommended: Calibre Software, which is free, better and easier than Adobe. It even turns news into ebooks, though I haven’t tried that yet. If you don’t have an ereader, you can still use Calibre on your computer to download and read digital books that you can’t find in paper.

Home Made Kobo Case

And as a final bonus, I sewed my own case for it. This is my first sewing project in ages, so it’s a good thing I left plenty of margin for plenty of errors! But it works and made use of a vest I love but no longer fits.

And a shout-out to Rachel at Indigo Books: thanks so much for the cardboard! It worked perfectly.

14 thoughts on “*Kobo Review

  1. I’ve only ever once seen a real ereader – a kindle – and the thing I couldn’t get beyond was the smallness of the screen. It wasn’t equal to a page of a book (or not unless you made the type so tiny it was illegible). And somehow I just felt I was reading on a toy, or being patronised in some way. I know, bizarre emotional reaction! I do think there are definite good points about ereaders, but I cannot get myself to the stage of actually liking them.

  2. I haven’t heard of a Kobo before. I don’t think e-readers will replace printed books – definitely not for me anyway, although I am getting a Kindle. I hope it’ll arrive today. We gave our son one for Christmas and he has been singing it’s praises. He came to stay over New Year and I rarely saw him without it in his hand or close by him!

    I’ve been wondering about getting one for ages and finally am persuaded – glad you like your Kobo. What a good idea to make your own cover out of clothing that no longer fits – I have quite a lot of that! 🙂

  3. Litlove, those things matter. I love the tactile feel of the kobo when I’m holding it. And the size of the screen doesn’t bother me. I like the feel and the weight. And now that I have the clip-on light to go with it, I’m purely happy. In fact I’ve ordered a clip on book light on ebay for my paper books, too. At some point a reading device may come out that is just the ticket for you. And if not so what? As long as you keep reading and blogging I’m happy! 🙂

    Margaret, any book I love I will get in paper even if I read it first electronically. As my older d said this morning, wanting to get a paper newspaper rather than reading it online, “it’s more realistic.” But do let us know how you get on with the kindle!

  4. I love the case. Reminds me of someone I have very fond memories of. 🙂

  5. The case looks great! I’m curious — what about the Kobo allows you to read faster on it?

  6. Thanks Dorothy. About the faster reading, I think that it’s more comfortable to hold and the smaller screen gives me more focus. I’ve read that people who are dyslexic find reading on an iphone easier for that reason. I’m not dyslexic, but my mind does wander all over, less so with the kobo. I was reading this evening from a paper book of essays and thinking how much more comfortable the Kobo was when i was reading the book that the essays are about.

  7. I’ve had the Sony e-reader for while, and then my husband got me a Nook for Christmas. The Sony is very difficult to me to read because of lighting issues. It seemed too dark. The Nook has no such problems, and I can change contrast and font size and style with ease.

    I can carry the Nook easily in my purse (which is great). I can also take lots of books with me when I travel (which is great). And I do seem to read faster on an e-reader. I don’t quite know why.

    But when I’m home, I still prefer books. I don’t think I’ll ever get over that 🙂

    And I really LOVE the case you made 🙂

    1. Thanks Becca. 🙂 I got a clip-on light for the Kobo, which I like so much, I’ve ordered a clip-on light for my paper books. The Nook I think you mentioned on your blog is colour? I find the backlighting bothers my eyes after a while. I can use my computer all day for writing, but it bothers me when I’m reading anything longer than an article. I wonder why.

  8. I have the new Sony readers that came out late last year. They have the new screen the Kindle 3 also uses. It’s quite nice, but the 5″ one is really good. The smallness is what makes it so lovable. Your handmade case looks nice, but I don’t think it beats the case I have for my reader. It opens and closes, like a book, and it uses magnets to keep closed. Yes, MAGNETS. The Sony readers have an aluminum casing, and apparently it’s safe to use. (Regular storage media like hard drives with moving parts inside are sensitive to magnets and can have their stuff deleted if they get too close to it, but I guess with flash drives like those used on small devices, i.e. e-readers, it is safe.)

    1. I want to see your case! Can you post a link to a picture?

  9. Thanks Cas! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close