Book Stuff, Writing Life

*Kobo

Well I got the toy! My kids were quite patient (as much as could be expected) while I dithered over whether I should get it and what colour and what accessories. In the end I just got the reader since M advised me to make my own cover for it.

I was forever on the phone waiting to get through to tech support to set it up, but it’s finally done and I downloaded The Haunted Bookshop by Christopher Morley.

I’ve been sitting in front of a screen for 3 hours, figuring out how to set it up, download a book, and borrow one from the library. Oh, I guess I could have been reading for 3 hours! Hmmm (L pauses for thought.)

Here’s the thing. This is an electronic device and we all know what happens with and to those. But I’m willing to put up with crap from my computer because writing on it is much different than using a typewriter, and communicating with people via email, FB, blogs, and so on is much different than snail mail. Googling everything from recipes to history is better than waiting to go to the library to get answers.

But a book is a book. And if my Kobo craps out, I’ll read paper. I’ll read paper books anyway, the ereader supplements them.

So for all the hype, I’d say this is a new toy that has yet to prove itself. For ereaders to endure, they’ll need to avoid the annoyance factor that makes people want to throw their computers at the wall. Otherwise they’ll be next year’s paper weight. And now I’m going to bed.

Tomorrow I think I’ll sew, read and skate.

7 thoughts on “*Kobo”

  1. I hope you enjoy your Kobo! It’s the first I’ve heard of it (but then I am way behind). I’m sure the annoyance with the technology will wear off soon and that you will have many more hours of reading pleasure.

  2. Always interesting to hear how my reading friends get on with e-readers. I still don’t really want one myself, although I can see they have some advantages – like lots of free classics! Do continue with the updates – I’m very curious to know how you get on.

  3. Pete, thanks! It wore off already. I woke up excited!

    Litlove, I was thinking about it last night. E-readers can be valuable for exactly that. Not only getting free classics, but getting them at all, especially anything that isn’t Jane Austen or Dickens! It helps to preserve books, newer ones as well, from the persnickety shelf life of bookstores and libraries.

    I’ve got a photo of my kobo linked in the tweets to the right, as well as an interesting interview with Charles Simic at the NYRB.

  4. Cool! I do look forward to hearing about your experiences with your new Kobo. I checked out the Simic interview. I am really looking forward to reading his Confessions. Thanks for the heads-up.

Leave a Reply

