Book Stuff

*Ministry of Stories

The Ministry of Stories is a shop in Hoxton. It looks like a monster shop, but inside the tins marked “the heebie-jeebies” are original stories by Nick Hornby, Zadie Smith and others, who are also volunteering in workshops. This is a project in London’s impoverished East End to get kids excited about writing their own stories.

The project has its roots across the Atlantic where the author David Eggers established 826 Valencia, an after-school writing club for children…Local children who popped in to the ministry to put together a story about the Queen and a sentient microwave oven called Bob were definitely inspired….”I like writing my own stories, but sometimes I find it a bit hard, because I have loads of good ideas but I find it hard to put it down on paper,” said one pupil.

Full story here.

The link to this news story came in my Writer’s Union list serve today and it warmed my heart. This is what the creative endeavour is really about, to enliven and inspire each other.

4 thoughts on “*Ministry of Stories”

  1. A friend sent me a link to this story – isn’t it wonderful? I wish there were something in Cambridge I could get involved with that was similar. Not yet, alas, but hopefully the idea will spread.

  2. It is a wonderful name–if only there actually were such a thing. Wouldn’t that same something about the culture in which there were? But not one of censorship (there could be that, too). Rather of fostering. It is so important. Something like this is needed everywhere.

Leave a Reply

