Writing Life

Monday Sept 20, 2010

The photographer writes on Flickr:

I love running. Hitting the pavement frees me from all other thoughts and allows me to feel entirely united as a being. I start out fully aware of the way I breathe, how my foot falls, how my arms drop and grip. Five minutes later, I am flowing.

I am not flowing yet. But this is what I am learning while running. Although I prefer to run fast, if I do I run out of breath fast, and then I stop. That has caused me to believe that I can’t run. However, if I run slowly with small steps, I can go the distance. When the path takes me downhill, I’m tempted to speed up, thinking that it’s too easy, but when I do, I can’t make it all the way up unless I stop and walk until I catch my breath.

I think there are lessons here for writing, too.

4 thoughts on “Monday Sept 20, 2010”

  1. It’s a beautiful analogy, Lilian. I’m all for taking things at a steady, sustainable pace. In fact, I have by me a quote I took from one of your posts, many months ago – ‘Terror does not lend itself to steady patience’ – I do love that and it seems to be part of the same family of thought.

    1. Litlove I’m so glad that line line resonated for you and thank you for reminding me of it. I just re-read that post myself. It is apropos of the moment: for starting, and for waiting to see what happens with the novel that is in my agent’s hands.

  2. Children run wonderfully – they float above the ground. I (on the other hand) seem to just lurch and wobble along, and my movements are anything but floating or graceful.

Leave a Reply

