*Monday Sept 13/10

The art of the Tattoo showed up everywhere in Japan — from the Ainu in the North, to the Okinawans in the South. Above photo from ca.1896.

There is some controversy as to whether the tattoos in these hand coloured photographs are genuine, completely added by the colourist, or a combination. Soba, who posted these on Flickr, presents an interesting case for it being mostly genuine, with some artistic license by the colourist. For more information and pictures, follow the link above.

I chose this for today’s photo after doing a search in Flickr with the word “runner”. I started running last week, and though my pace is barely faster than a fast walk, with A’s encouragement I’ve been running close to 5k. My kids are bemused.

8 thoughts on “*Monday Sept 13/10

  1. The last time I ran, it was eleven o’clock at night, in London, we were getting late for our train, and I spotted a taxi with its light on at the end of the road. My husband and son were astounded, but you can see that I need a fair amount of incentive to kick up the ol’ heels. Good on you for giving it a go! The tattoos are something else – as a teenager I would occasionally stick on a transfer tattoo but I would never have the courage to go under a real needle!

    1. Litlove, I keep telling my kids that the problem with tattoos is that what looks cute at 20 does not at 40–nor does it look the same when the body spreads out!

  2. I’m the same with tattoos, I’ve wanted to get one forever, but can never settle on something I’m sure will be just as interesting and beautiful when I hit my 50s and 60s. I suspect I’ll never do it…

    And hooray for starting to run! Since having my daughter, I haven’t done any actual running. It is very hilly where I live and just pushing a stroller or carrying her in her backpack is a good workout. But I miss the movement of real running – hopefully this spring I’ll find the energy to brave my mini-alps at a jog.

  3. Great picture. I think there can be something intensely beautiful about body art like that – but you’d never get me under the needle!

  4. I have a friend with a back (somewhat) like this…. 🙂

  5. Verbivore, I remember that stage. When my kids were babies I never needed to think about weight bearing exercise!

    Rachel, I agree–fascinating but not something to which I aspire either for myself or my kids.

    Beth, now that is interesting. I’d like to know the story behind your friend’s back.

  6. Yeah, I can see that some tattoos are meaningful and artistic – Maori tattoos, for instance, which I’ve always found very beautiful – but I must admit they have been pretty thoroughly ruined for me in recent years by the sudden epidemic of ink. And pretty ordinary ink at that. Some of what people do to their bodies amazes and alarms me, but then, I don’t even have my ears pierced.

    Lilian, wonderful about the running! Run for me, would you please, as I am missing it so!!! I find it SO meditative, I hope you grow to love it too.

    1. So far so good, Di. I can’t say I love it yet–but I’m liking it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close