*How Fast is Ereading?

The answer, according to a recent study by Jakob Nielsen, is not as fast as a book, nor as comfortable.

He tested 24 subjects with a printed story, a Kindle, an Ipad, and a PC, taking care to ensure that other factors (such as different literacy levels) didn’t come into play. At the end of the story, the Kindle and Ipad experience was similar. Subjects hated the PC, but read the print version the fastest of all, finding it the most relaxing.

Full results here.

This is timely because, during my mall-cation from heat yesterday, I stopped in at the Apple store and at a Sony store to compare the Ipad and Sony reader. The Ipad was clearly the more alluring and yet, in the study above, people’s reading satisfaction was rated about the same.

This morning I read reviews of the Ipad and the Sony reader on Amazon. There were negative reviews of the Ipad’s wifi connectivity and of the Ipad’s lack of multitasking. The compaints about the Sony reader had to do with durability, software and support service.

I was greatly relieved. The Ipad isn’t in the budget at the moment, so I can stop drooling. And while the Sony reader is more affordable, it is too grey to be appealing, and it seems I can invest more reliably in more jewelry supplies. At least if my necklace falls apart, I can re-string it!

h/t Bookninja

Categories Book StuffTags

8 thoughts on “*How Fast is Ereading?

  1. I am just not there yet (with e readers). I need to turn the pages. physically.

    I laugh every time I see that word, mall-cation. And boy, do I get it. No air conditioning in our house either.

  2. As you probably know, I have the Sony e-reader and have had some rather nasty problems with its software. I use it only when traveling, and find it helpful to be able to carry three or four books in such a compact manner.

    At home, however, I’m into paper and ink all the way.

  3. I would love to have an ereader – and I do like the Sony – but I’m just so sure they’re going to get better over the next couple of years. I might get one for Christmas…

  4. Beth, over a 100 is just unconscionable. We had temperatures close to that the first summer I was home with my older d and I’d take her out only in the early morning or evening.

    Becca, I think of you whenever I read about Sony ereaders!

    Rachel, I’m waiting for the next generation or two, also.

  5. Yep, me too – I think there will be so many future iterations we may as well sit on our pennies and wait for the technology to improve. Also it’s always going to be a secondary source to me, so I don’t feel any urgency.

    What you need is a sea breeze!!

  6. I am interested in the ipad, but I’ll probably wait and see how it evolves before I save up. I do have a kindle, and I like it. It’s pretty comfortable to read, and for traveling there is nothing better. Obviously actual books will always come first, but I love having access to classic literature on my kindle, instead of trying to read stuff on my PC or printing it out.

  7. Di, I do need a sea breeze. At least we’re on a Great Lake (though you can’t see it from here). I want a reader that can take any kind of file and buy from any store and that I can highlight and make notes on.

    Verbivore, what’s the kindle like? I’ve not seen any in 3d.

  8. I’ve read a few ebooks on my iPhone using Kobo. It’s not as enjoyable as reading a print book and I find I absorb a little less. I haven’t noticed a difference in speed, but I’m a very fast reader to begin with. Ebooks are a great option when I want to read something only available in hardcover because it’s a third of the cost. I will get an iPad when they release Gen 2.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close