*It’s Never Too Late

Myrrha Stanford-Smith, an 82 year old writer, is seeing her first novel published. Not only that…it’s a three book deal!

The Brighton-born writer secured herself a deal with publisher Honno, for a trilogy based around her swashbuckling Elizabethan hero Nick Talbot.

The adventure reignites, in fictional form, the rivalry between William Shakespeare and Christopher Marlowe.

Ms Stanford-Smith said of the deal: ”I was gobsmacked. I had to put the phone down and ring them back as I was so taken aback by the whole thing.

Full story here.

h/t

Categories Book StuffTags

9 thoughts on “*It’s Never Too Late

  1. Well done! There’s still hope! 😉

  2. skadl and beth–definitely hope. inspiring!

  3. That’s fabulous! Good for her – and it sounds like a cracking yarn, too!

    1. Di–I like the swashbuckling and poets/playwrights combo.

  4. Oh love it! I might have finished editing by my 80s, you never know! 🙂

    1. Litlove, I hope I’ll have a 3 book deal in my 80’s!

  5. How wonderful.

    1. It thought so too, Taoist. Thank you for coming by? How did you choose your nick?

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close