*Art Precedes Life

Oh, I know this isn’t of any great importance, but I’m getting new glasses. I’m very excited. They look a bit different than the glasses I usually get. And when the optometrist described them as retro, I knew they were perfect, because the main character of my new novel used the same word in admiring the glasses worn by a neighbourhood mom. I wrote that several drafts and three years ago, well before the new Sex In The City movie, according to my young and hipper than me optometrist, made that style popular.

This is the picture I modeled my description after. My glasses are not quite so turned up, more of a brownish colour, and metal on the lower side of the lenses.

A photograph of my actual glasses will be forthcoming as soon as they’re ready.

Categories Writing LifeTags

5 thoughts on “*Art Precedes Life

  1. Cool!!! I *love* glasses – I have no need of them, which is lucky, I know, but sort of weirdly disappointing at the same time… Llew needs a new pair, so I tried a bunch on while he was talking to an optometrist last week, and there are some funky specs out there! Exhibit A above – and a nice literary endorsement too!!

  2. I wear contac lens but spent some time trying on glasses the other day while waiting for my mom at the ophthalmologist. The new frames really change your whole look, don’t they? I was tempted to get some for fun, except the price isn’t all that funny 😉

    Can’t wait to see a pic of your “for real” pair!

  3. Di–I think there was someone on So You Think You Can Dance who had a whole range of glasses just for the looks–either empty or with plain glass.

    Becca, yes–and I only get to do it every few years!

  4. And now I have seen the real thing on you – and they’re lovely! I am hanging onto glasses that aren’t quite strong enough because I like the frames and it’s so hard to find ones I’ll consent to wear!

    1. Thanks! Litlove, you could put new lenses in the old frames.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close