*Oil

It isn’t that I don’t care about the oil spill in the gulf–it’s that I have been finding it too appalling and scary to write about. Maybe if it goes on long enough, we’ll start realizing that something has to change and it has to change on a regulation and policy level. I hope it will be substantive and not just window dressing. Individual action is important but it isn’t enough. We need institutional changes to reduce energy use. It’s going to come one way or another, either in the manner of our choosing or forced on us.

There is an old Jewish story that the messiah can come slowly on a donkey or quickly with a sword in hand. In other words, either we re-make our world into a better place, or we see destruction.

Let’s ride the donkey. Donkeys don’t use oil.

Categories MiscellanyTags

3 thoughts on “*Oil

  1. I agree. I think we need a paradigm shift in the way we as consumers and producers and regulators look at oil (and energy more broadly). We can’t carry on with business as usual. Maybe the Gulf spill will help to change people’s minds about this.

  2. I completely agree. I haven’t been following the oil disaster on the same grounds. If I could do something about it, I would, but being futilely upset doesn’t seem very helpful. I really think we should fly less. What was the point of developing telecommunications to their current state of sophistication only to have the world’s businessmen still trotting the globe? Think how much fuel could be saved if they stayed put.

  3. Pete, I sure hope so. And it doesn’t have to turn out to be a sacrifice either. Less commuting time would make everyone’s lives better.

    Litlove, I’ve often wondered that, myself. It reminds me of the “paperless” society. Computers were supposed to reduce paper use but instead have expanded it.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close