*Draft 9A

I have read several things this week that I thought would make good blog posts, and intended to write about them, but I am just too tired because I am working on 9A.

It’s “A” because the changes aren’t big enough to warrant a whole number change. When I got the congratulations from my excited agent I was in rapture and also in terror because, after many long years, this book is nearly done.

Thanks to everyone who suggested police procedurals and thrillers for me to learn about their climaxes. That (adapted to a more literary genre) and the interviews from the wonderful officers and other professionals who generously gave of their time and forgave my shyness and inexperience at live interviews (as opposed to reading through reams of dusty old books and maps) has worked!

I have just a bit of fine tuning to do, and some information to write up about how I came to write this book, what I learned in the course of doing it, and the interviews mentioned above. It all goes back to my agent next month and then things will move along from there.

So I am busily at work, worn out with excitement and anxiety (do those two go often hand in hand?), making the most of every day of lovely weather to walk with whatever energy is left over. It’s supposed to rain on the weekend. I may have more time to blog then!

Categories Book Stuff, Writing LifeTags

9 thoughts on “*Draft 9A

  1. Wow — your work sounds great! I’m glad all the reading and interviews paid off and the book is coming together. What a great accomplishment.

    1. Thanks, Dorothy! It’s pretty exciting. This is the first time I’ve done live interviews and turned it into fiction and it’s worked. 🙂

  2. Lillian, I can’t wait to buy it.

    1. Thanks, Emily! It’s been a long haul with this book. And yet I was called to it.

  3. What a great sense of satisfaction you must feel, after working so long and hard. I’m excited about reading this one!

  4. How exciting! And how terrifying…. But it will be marvellous, I’m sure and so pleased for you that the end is in sight.

    1. Thanks so much Litlove and Becca. It’s so wonderful to have you come by and share this journey with me from all corners!

  5. Oh WOW – congratulations, Lilian, that is just sooo exciting, and such a just reward for all your dedication and slog. Brilliant! A big hug and high-five to you.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close