*Love against Hate

Just two examples of “Not in Our Town”–communities mobilizing against hate.

When the Kansas hate group known as the Westboro Baptist Church (Fred Phelps’ family) announced they would picket Bay Area schools and Jewish institutions, students at Gunn High School decided they could not sit quietly.

When anti-gay extremist Fred Phelps and the Westboro Baptist Church announced the hate group would picket Newark Memorial High School’s production of “The Laramie Project,” [about reaction to the murder of a gay university student], community members like Gail Nelson couldn’t sit quietly. Borrowing from a scene in the play, concerned citizens dressed as angels to block from view Phelps’ followers and their hateful placards.

More here.

Categories MiscellanyTags ,

10 thoughts on “*Love against Hate

  1. Good for them – and I find fear- and hate-mongering beyond bewildering.

    1. Di, me too. I don’t know what gives, sometimes.

  2. Thanks, Lilian, it was great to see that show of support. I just remembered as I watched those clips about our local reports here about “corrective rape” of lesbians in SA. Apparently it’s widespread. Just sickening. I tend to take note of those stories and then just mentally switch to the next story (equally distressing often). But I think a response such as this one which reaches out would be a lot better.

    1. Pete, it is sickening. And so appalling that it leaves me with a feeling of helplessnes. That’s why I was excited to see these wonderful community responses.

  3. Back from my break and delighted to find you actively lobbying for love and tolerance, Lilian! You know you’ve got my vote.

    1. Good to see you back, Litlove. I hope you had a wonderful break. The weather here was glorious, but we are back to spring rain now.

  4. I’m always heartened when I hear stories like this. Most often, it’s the unreasonable hate which makes the news 😦

    1. Rachel I agree–and we need more heartening.

  5. So glad to see tolerance being taught and celebrated. More of that, please…

  6. Becca, yes–more will lead to more.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close