Miscellany

*Jingoism Lite

Canada hosted the 2010 winter games, and came out of it with a new record for gold medals, and only behind the U.S. and Germany in total medals, though per capita ahead of them both. If only this could be it–just the games and the national pride expressed thereof, the financial burden created thereby–instead of war and the cost paid, both financial and in lives, our people’s lives and those in Afghanistan.

Wouldn’t it be better for countries to marshal athletes and artists, singers, performers, inventions, and have competitions and prizes?

So for this moment I’m completely willing to cheer for Canada and all the athletes who put their all into it. A special shout-out to the athletes who fell and got up again, who didn’t win the medals they hoped for, but risked, tried, and will go on trying. It’s all about practise, not a moment.

And of course the mounties…

6 thoughts on “*Jingoism Lite”

  1. There’s a novel that I used to teach by Georges Perec – W ou le souvenir d’enfance (W or the memory of childhood) that is set on a fantasy island dominated by permanent Olympic games. It is supposed to represent a utopian community – only as we go through the novel, dark aspects appear. The women are all locked away, those who lose don’t get fed, the rules keep changing all the time, the officials are corrupt. Eventually the representation slides into that of a concentration camp. It is brilliantly done and completely chilling.

    Not that that’s got anything to do with Canada doing well in the games! But it is an extraordinary book.

  2. I’m somewhat ashamed to admit I didn’t watch a single second of the Olympics. It would have been on television, and that just doesn’t fit into my life anymore. But the medal count is good. The USA never does well in the winter Olympics, so I was slightly proud, too, but since I didn’t see anyone, I hate to be too proud.

    1. I never watched the Olympics much until one of my children showed an interest in watching sports. Before becoming a mom, I’d never considered the way my kids would shape me and expose me to new interests.

Leave a Reply

