*Mystery Solved

At first my investigations into the mystery (posted here) only deepened it. Alternative translations for the Hebrew phrase above the red door were suggested by a friend of Emily’s and by a friend of mine, who, though fluent in Hebrew, was puzzled and said as a phrase this didn’t make sense.

Today while on a wander-ponder, I stopped in at the theatre (to which the door opened) so I could ask. And the young woman in the box office made it all clear. The lettering was put up by the production company to create a fake synagogue for the play Yichud,, which takes place during an Orthodox Jewish Wedding. To add to the atmosphere, the audience is segregated, men sitting on one side of the theatre and women on the other. (This is not my idea of an adequate date with my husband! However we will be seeing another play,

Categories Writing LifeTags

7 thoughts on “*Mystery Solved

  1. Yay! A solution! Although it would have been nice if it had turned out to mean something profound and moving.

    1. Litlove, yes, or been an interesting historical signpost. But as theatre production, it did attract my attention!

  2. I like this! And I think Intimate Apparel sounds very date-worthy.

  3. I’m glad you solved it! 🙂 Sounds like you have some interesting theatre to see, too.

    1. I can’t wait for the play–it’s been total ages since h and I got to go out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close