*Walking Mystery

I’ve been deep deep in chapter twenty-six all week, barely coming up for air, and hardly out of the house at all. So this morning, I went walking. I walked and walked and looked for colour, camera in hand, and headphones blocking out all sound but the music on my mp3 player. The sky was grey and the trees were grey and yards had the beaten down brown look of late winter. But it was wonderfully mild and by the time I got home I was hot in my winter jacket.

Here are the results and at the end, the mystery. (Click on photos to enlarge.)

Now the mystery. The above photo shows the home of Theatre Passe Muraille. According to Wikipedia and the theatre’s own website, the building was built in 1906 and was a bakery or a candle factory (or perhaps both.) But see the photo below of the front door:

When I first walked by and glanced at the star of David and the Hebrew writing, I thought oh this is an old synagogue I didn’t know about. Then I took a closer look at the name and even with my limited knowledge of Hebrew it didn’t sound like the name of a shul. So–with the help of my dictionary I have attempted to decipher it with minimal success. From what I can tell the words don’t make a whole lot of sense together.

The first word is no problem. It means house as in house of something. There’s the rub…what’s the something? The next word is either pass or pass away or ferry crossing or transition. The third word means walls. (There are a couple of prefixes thrown in there but I’ll gloss over those.)

A funeral parlour? A transition house? Or have I totally gotten the meaning wrong? (Which would be no surprise.)

Google has failed me. I cannot find record of an early 20th century Jewish building on Ryerson Ave. in Toronto. If you know anyone who speaks Hebrew, can you ask them to help solve the mystery?

There is probably some embarrasingly simple answer!

Categories Writing LifeTags ,

12 thoughts on “*Walking Mystery

  1. Fascinating. I don’t speak Hebrew, but I hope you’ll share the answer when you find it. Funeral parlour was my first guess, too.

  2. Sending it to a friend who speaks Hebrew.

    1. Thanks Emily, I’m curious to find out what your friend says.

  3. I love the vibrant pink of the theatre! I call that a most successful search for colour!

  4. Litlove, I thought so too. I had a wonderful time.

  5. How great to go walking with a camera, just to see what you’ll see!

    1. Dorothy–and I find that with my camera I see differently, I look around more.

  6. Love the red chair in front of the green fence.

    As for the mystery, I’m astonished that Google couldn’t provide the answer. I thought it knew EVERYTHING. I’m so disappointed! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close