Writing Life

*When Not Writing

The t-shirt was too big and the neckband too tight (as well as itchy), but I love the print on it. So, with my new used sewing machines, and the willingness to look like an idiot, I got supplies and instructions from the owner of a small sewing shop on Queen Street west of Spadina (near Augusta for anyone interested), and I remade the shirt a bit so I could wear it as an overshirt/vest.

My first attempt with bright yellow thread, was painstakingly picked out while I listened to A reading Harry Potter aloud. He is a good reader and a willing one. My younger daughter sat on the couch with both of us, listening raptly, while my older daughter alternated between squishing in with us there and checking to see if she had any email from her friend in Korea.

This is the result of my second attempt.

Front

And back

The shirt is also too big for me, so I used a ribbon and buttons in the back to pull it in. Even though I measured every which way, it came out off-centre. I haven’t decided yet whether I’m going to pick it out and try again. I think it might depend on how much HP gets read tonight.

12 thoughts on “*When Not Writing”

  1. I love the shirt both before and after, and the print is gorgeous – reminds me of the Dagoli shirts of a few years ago. I have not been able to find them for some time now, and the one I had (and loved) finally fell apart.

  2. I am hopeless at any kind of needlework, so I admire you greatly for all these sewing efforts. And the design on that shirt is beautiful…no wonder you want to keep it!

    1. Becca, thank you. I figure though if I can do it, anybody must. I mean I’m long enough in the tooth for starting this out. Maybe I’m just more willing to look like an idiot. You only have to read my first drafts to know that. 😉

    1. Di, it’s my characters. I’ve had two that sewed. I think there is some kind of weird acquired heredity thing between me and my characters, ie they pass it to me. It’s spooky.

Leave a Reply

