*Scrumptious Muffins

I don’t usually post recipes, but these muffins are irresistible. Or maybe it’s just cold and I crave carbs. If you do, too, these are pretty healthy and delicious.

1/2 cup white flour
1/2 + cup whole wheat flour (I use a bit more than 1/2)
1/2 – cup quick cooking oats (I used a little less than 1/2 made up by the whole wheat above)

total 1 1/2 cups of flour-ish stuff

pinch of salt

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 – cup oil (I put in a little less than 1/2 cup of canola oil)

1/2 cup sugar (kids loved it, but next time I’ll try a bit less sugar; we use organic sugar, which has a nice texture as well as being healthier)

2 eggs (it would probably work with 1 egg too)

2/3 cup milk (I used 2% because that’s what lactose free organic milk comes in)

4 rounded (heapish) tablespoons of blueberry jam (the kind that is double fruit)

Okay, first mix the flour-ish stuff, salt and baking powder

In another bowl stirr in oil and sugar. it makes a nice slurry mix. Then mix in one egg at a time. After that add in millk slowly and stir.

Make a well in the dry stuff and pour in wet mixture. Stir. Add blueberry jam.

Makes 12 nice size muffins. Bake at 350 for 30ish minutes.

I started out with 25 minutes, they weren’t done. So I added another five minutes, then another three. I’m guessing that if I wasn’t opening and closing the oven, 30 minutes or so would do.

Categories Writing LifeTags ,

3 thoughts on “*Scrumptious Muffins

  1. You should write a cookbook. I love the way you describe everything… flourish stuff, slurry mix…

  2. These sound lovely – with real blueberries and fructose rather than ordinary sugar, I might be able to eat them myself! Yay!

  3. Louise that made me laugh because I’m just learning to cook and bake! But I’ve been writing for many years so it makes sense.

    Litlove, I bet it would be good with applesauce as sweetener too.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close