*Sewing Machine

I’m possessed by the yearning for one, a good one, that will sew smoothly and thread easily because I’m a beginner in this as in so many other things. I’ve always wanted a sewing machine and I’ve owned three that didn’t do.

My first came as a kid. It was a toy though you could rotate the handle and a needle made a real stitch. But it wasn’t a real sewing machine and it came with strings attached, nasty ones. I bought the second with a Christmas bonus I got as a young adult. It was used and solid and stolid. All it did was sew a straight stitch. A friend of mine who’d sewn since she popped out of the womb tried to teach me to sew. It went moderately well in retrospect but I was too impatient and gave up, donating the machine to the use of her girl guides.

My latest machine came only about 4 years ago. It was new but cheap cheap cheap and it rattles like a cheap car. While a car that rattles can still get one from point A to B, threading this sewing machine is a sweaty mystery, and when finally threaded, it bunches and pinches and tosses up threads. It is not my friend.

I want another sewing machine. I visited a store, where I was asked to believe a certain quantity of bs, though I actually liked the feel of the husqyvarna emerald 116. Still and all, I really want a good used machine that has metal parts inside, sews likes a dream and will last forever.

I want to make things. A story is something out of nothing and God knows that it is so hard that there is a special word in Hebrew for taking the chaos and void and making worlds, different from the regular making out of stuff. And yet that’s a wonder in itself. I crave a sewing machine. I ask the universe to open up and show me the one.

Or you can recommend your favourite.

Categories Writing LifeTags ,

18 thoughts on “*Sewing Machine

  1. I’ll ask my brother-in-law’s wife (what does that make her, exactly?!) for a recommendation as is this way, way, way beyond me but right up her alley!

  2. I’d say that anything called the husqyvarna emerald should be immediately purchased. It sounds a little like a drink you’d order in Norway, so I’d check the compartments and see if there’s a tiny bottle of that inside the machine. At the very least, it should help you thread the needle, or at least make it so you don’t care when the thread won’t cooperate.

    My own sewing machine is from Sears, and it works beautifully. Of course, I mainly use it for sewing straight lines, but it has a lot of fancy stitches that could be used, should one wish.

    Good luck in your search!

    1. Bloglily this made me laugh out loud! I think it should also decorate my table with those fancy things that Martha Stewart makes. It’s the only way one of those will ever appear in my house.

  3. Gosh that takes me back. My mother’s sewing machine was the constant background whirr to my childhood! She always had Singers, but given that my information is at least 20 years old, I’m not sure it’s any use! Good luck in your hunt.

    1. Litlove, those old Singers were good. I want to get a 1960’s or 1970’s singer when one comes up in my area to have as an extra one because they sew through anything.

  4. I have a sewing machine but it’s not great – certainly not easy to thread! If I had a lot of money I’d buy a programmable sewing machine for embroidery.

    My husband has a Husqvarna chainsaw, if that helps….

    1. Rachel, I kept coming across those chainsaws when I was googling Husqvarna. It’s interesting what else sewing machine manufacturers are known for. Wait till you see the one I got. No chainsaws but…

  5. Oh, I’ve often craved the ability to sew. My mother was a seamstress. I wholly admire seamstresses. And once I had a toy like you did.

    May these holidays produce for you the right machine.

    1. Beth, I’m going to post on the machine that I got on Friday. You know, I’ve had several main characters in my books who can sew like mad!

  6. I am useless with sewing or neelework of any kind, although there are lots of others in my family who sew beautifully.

    I recall being fascinated with my great-grandmother’s sewing maching, which was a Singer treadle machine, operated by pushing a black iron foot treadle. Amazing 🙂

    1. Becca those old Singer machines are still around, being sold on Craigslist.

    2. Treadle machines are still being sold on Craigslist. Someday I might get one. At least I should be able to try it out to know first hand what I wrote about in The Singing Fire!

  7. I craved until I had one. I bought a Janome on eBay several years ago. Then I was doing some embroidery on it and something went awry. I didn’t have time to take it to get fixed. It sat for more than 2 years, but I finally did, and I’m SO happy. I made Halloween costumes for my girls and am making more dress-up as Christmas gifts for some friends of theirs. I’m not a seamstress by any stretch of the imagination, but there is just something about that creative process. I know you understand.

    1. I do understand–and I wonder if I could make costumes next year. That would be so much fun. Did you buy a pattern or make it up?

  8. Hi, I’ve just purchased a Toyota 2460 for my daughters to learn how to sew. It was a steal at £26 and I’m hoping it’ll do the job. I have 3 seam mistresses in the making! My first ever machine was the Singer Concerto which I paid £359 for 18 years ago, serviced after 17 years of use. I still have it and never want to replace it. Happy sewing!

    1. Nothing like those old singers! How are your daughters getting along with the Toyota? My first sewing machine was an inexpensive Brother, but I could never make friends with it. One of my daughters took it on though and does amazing things with it. My current favourite is a Babylock that I got through Kijiji.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close