*AGO

The AGO, or the Art Gallery of Ontario, is in the vicinity of Chinatown, where my younger daughter and I had lunch after we visited the art gallery on a p.a. day, which stands for professional something, a day that the teachers have meetings and do important things and so did my children, the older one accompanying A (dh in case you don’t know) to the university to sit in on the classes he teaches.

The AGO isn’t the Louvre, I admit it. But it’s my art gallery, the one that I have a family membership to. And we saw wonderful, inspiring, lovely, beautiful, intriguing, thought provoking art.

These were my favourites:

William Kurelek’s “Reminicences of Youth,” for the cleverness and humour of it: a young man daydreaming, painted on wood to look like a sepia photograph, and his memory of a snowy day on a large canvas with colours more vibrant than you can see here.

J.E.H. MacDonald, “Snow Flurries Algonquin Park,” which I can’t reproduce because the beauty of the dark colours can only be seen in the original. But it reminded me of the startling beauty of Monet’s “The Thames at Westminster Bridge.” If you visit Toronto, go and see it.

A hilarious (to me) sculpture of Queen Elizabeth by David Ruben Piqtoukun, an Inuit sculptor who suffered through residential school, but later found himself as an impressive artist. Some of his sculptures are here.

It was a wonderful day: the beauty of the art, the sunshine as we walked, the good food at my favourite Chinese vegetarian restaurant, my daughter’s hand in mine.

View from the AGO window
View from the Ago window

Where we ate
And to prove it's Toronto...the CN Tower
4 thoughts on “*AGO

  1. This sounds like the perfect day…hold it in your memory to take out and savor in years to come 🙂

    1. I will, Becca, and I hope for many more such!

  2. I love the picture you link to – so much humour and vitality! And a great picture for a child. What a lovely day out.

    1. Litlove, and it’s so much more fun in the original: the detail of the children at play, the snow fort, sliding down the hill. I’m glad the spirit of it came across in the photo.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close