* Piggie Update and Books

Children are doing well, bouncing off the walls because they feel healthy and have to stay home today. We’ll be having a couple more of same. We played 2 games of Clue, whereupon I bailed due to the extreme giddiness of said children and the poking of my bottom with a pen every time I turned my back to tick off a weapon or suspect on my clue sheet.

I intended to get the flu shot today, but the clinics here are overwhelmed. After A got home from teaching, I checked the news online and there were over a 1000 people in line. That is about where the clinics were shut off for the day yesterday, so I figured no point in trekking out in the rain.

Yesterday I went to the library to replenish the kids’ stock and return the 50+ they had from our last couple of library ventures. I had forgotten that the library opens late on Thursdays, so I had to amuse myself for a while. I ended up with a pair of running shoes and a bra–which will require a whole new post.

I’m also behind in book reviews (what else is new!). I have The Uncommon Reader, Offshore, and Murder On the Orient Express waiting for my reviews and will have to get to them before I forget what I thought. So for today I’ll say, I liked all three. The first was funny and surprising. The second was evocative and more of a short story than a novel. The third was fun and I wonder if my eleven year old would like it.

Categories Book Stuff, Writing LifeTags ,

12 thoughts on “* Piggie Update and Books

  1. Well, I enjoyed Murder on the Orient Express very much, when I was about 11. And, indeed, any Agatha Christie with Poirot or Miss Marple 🙂

  2. I’ll have to try Miss Marple too. 🙂

  3. So relieved to hear the children are well. Thank goodness. And I was a big Christie fan around that age. I’ve been listening to those books on audio tape with my son, though, as it seems an easy way to introduce more adult writers to him.

    1. Litlove, I like audiobooks myself. I find it restful. That’s an interesting possibility.

  4. I’m glad to hear you’re all well again. I loved The Uncommon Reader. I have Murder on the Orient Express in the to-be-read piles, but I don’t know Offshore – looking forward to your reviews.

    1. BooksPlease, Offshore is by Penelope Fitzgerald–Litlove wrote about her. It’s one of her earlier books (late 70’s) and beautifully done.

  5. So glad to hear your children are recovering, and I hope you stay well! That bout of illness you had last summer was quite enough, I think!

    I became a complete Agatha Christie fanatic during the summer I was 12. Read every single one, I think. I’m glad you’re all enjoying them.

    1. Becca, sometimes it’s fun to read old books. 🙂

  6. I can’t wait to hear what you have to say about The Uncommon Reader. Writing that as I shake my head at you dealing with this flu again. Still, I guess that I am happy that the kids feel well enough to poke your said bottom during Clue.

    1. They’re doing very well, Beth. They had 2 quite sick days and then a rapid turn-around. Whether that’s thanks to tamiflu or they would have been anyway, we can’t know. But they’ve been happily playing since Thursday, though I had to keep them home.

  7. Flu shot line–OI! Running shoes and bra? Can’t wait!

    1. LOL. I’ll have to get to it today.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close