*Fabulous Photography

I’m linking to a blog that displays the gripping work of Vivian Maier,

a street photographer from the 1950s – 1970s. Vivian’s work was discovered at an auction here in Chicago where she lived for 50 years but was originally a native to France. Her discovered work includes over 40,000 mostly medium format negatives. Born February 1, 1926 and passed away on Tuesday, April 21, 2009.

I’ve never heard of her and I should have: her photos are gripping and original. I’ve subscribed to the blog on her work created by John Maloof, who found and purchased the negatives in Chicago.

7 responses

  1. how glorious. how very much like Robert Frank’s work.

  2. Very interesting work! It reminds me a bit of Henri Cartier-Bresson but with a soupcon of Dorothea Lange. I do hope that doesn’t sound too pretentious!

  3. Amazing and beautiful work. How long ago that time seems. How many talented people work without being noticed by the world.

  4. Thank you! Those pictures are gripping and, although American, remind me of my own childhood in the 50′s.

    Her works is classically interesting in its simplicity and purity of vision.

    I feel sure that as an artist she would have enjoyed the act of creation and that there were people who also admired her work.

  5. Wow, what a find! Those photos are so fantastic I actually exclaimed aloud at my desk. Riveting spectacle, the street. Just brilliant. Thanks so much for sharing that, Lilian, it makes me want to sit and study those images for hours. And 600 more rolls still to be developed?! Imagine that. He must be having the time of his life.

  6. I’m so glad you’re all enjoying it as much as I am. And thank you Beth and Litlove for the comparisons to other photographers. I’m going to look them up and see for myself! (And not the least bit pretentious Litlove.) I think her portraits are so interesting. Every one is a story.

  7. These photos are astounding. How amazing to think of this woman taking all these photographs of people and places so many years ago. Moments of all those lives, frozen in time – gave me chills.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers

