Review: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared

The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared
The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A book people seem to love or hate. I did laugh out loud. It’s a tall tale, not my favorite genre usually: the hundred year old man runs away from an old age home, has adventures, tells the story of his life, which is the story of the 20th century and his unlikely encounters with presidents and dictators. But I was thoroughly entertained and amused by both the front and back stories. It was a great romp. A sort of Swedish Candide. I keep recommending it to people who may or may not thank me for that.

View all my reviews

5 responses

  1. A tall tale is an excellent term – and not the kind of book I generally like either. But I’m so glad you read it so that I could be introduced to that term – thank you!

    1. Oops…I meant to say I laughed so hard and kept reading bits aloud to A.

  2. It sounds like a very interesting story. Imagine, if you were 100 and decided to run away from a old age home…

    1. I wish I could be as fit as the main character!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

