Sunrise on New Moon

(click to enlarge)

(click to enlarge)

Part of my project for 2014 is to pay attention to the day. Every morning I jot down in a notebook the time of sunrise and sunset, moonrise and moonset, the phase of the moon, and the weather, not the forecast, but the feel of the day: cold, windy, warming, drizzle or snow. The weather has been noteworthy and attention grabbing in my part of the world. First the glittering ice storm that knocked out power in hundreds of thousands of homes, and then bouts of extreme cold. Today there is sun and it’s warming up. I may be able to shed one of my layers. Is that symbolic?

9 responses

  1. Jacqueline Clements | Reply

    The photo is beautiful Lilian! I like your idea of the “daily watch”!

  2. Nice picture. It has really captured the great colours of the morning sun.

    1. Thanks! It was so vivid.

  3. Oh, the light and the color of the sky! This is grand.

    1. Thank you! There is beauty even in the city.

  4. What a gorgeous image! Funnily enough, I’m keeping a diary this year for the first time since I was a teenager. I wanted to pay attention to the day, too. :)

    1. That’s so cool, Litlove. Are you writing it by hand or on the computer?

      1. By hand! I bought a pretty ring bound notebook in the sale after Christmas and write a page (which to me is both sides of one sheet of paper) every night in bed. On some days, it’s been the highlight of the day….. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

